DEVON

Friday, October 16, 2020

A Devon-based adoption charity is turning its attention to funding homes for those children who have waited the longest.

Monday, October 12, 2020

An urgent £6million economic recovery programme for Devon is being discussed by county councillors.

Read more
Tuesday, September 29, 2020

Prime Minister Boris Johnson visited Devon on Tuesday (September 29) to announce plans to ‘transform’ post-18 education in the post-Covid-19 economy.

Read more
Tuesday, September 15, 2020

The first Loganair service between Exeter and Newcastle takes off for the first time on Tuesday (September 15), as Loganair launches flights previously provided by Flybe.

Read more
Thursday, September 10, 2020

Devon residents are being urged to breathe new life into their old clothes and ‘wear what you have’ to help reduce their carbon footprint.

Read more
Sunday, September 6, 2020

Small businesses and the tourism sector across Devon can benefit from the Growth Support Kickstart Grant Scheme offering grants of up to £3,000.

Read more
Thursday, September 3, 2020

More than £10,000 has been given to a charity that focuses on sexual health and helping people living with HIV.

Read more
Wednesday, September 2, 2020

One death relating to coronavirus has been recorded in the latest ONS figures for Devon, with no deaths in Cornwall.

Read more
Thursday, August 27, 2020

Adult learners in Devon are among those celebrating well-earned GCSE results, having completed maths and English qualifications with an adult learning service.

Read more
Monday, August 24, 2020

Guidelines have been produced on school transport as preparations are made for a full return of students in September.

Read more
Friday, August 21, 2020

Calls have been made for Devon County Council to help care for child migrants amid a rise in the number arriving alone in Kent.

Read more
Wednesday, August 12, 2020

Police are calling on residents and tourists to respect Devon and Cornwall after a weekend that saw record 999 calls and increased levels of anti-social behaviour.

Read more
Wednesday, August 5, 2020

Devon is bracing itself for hot weather ahead of the weekend with temperatures expected to reach as high at 26 degrees.

Read more
Sunday, July 12, 2020

A popular cycling app is set to be used by Devon County Council to decide where some of the additional £27m of spending on the county’s roads will be allocated.

Read more
Monday, May 18, 2020

Nearly £4m will be invested to hire 30 full-time staff members to address serious failings that led to Devon County Council’s children’s services being rated inadequate.

Read more
Friday, April 17, 2020

A writing competition is being launched to provide a creative outlet for schoolchildren during the coronavirus crisis.

Read more
Friday, February 21, 2020

The search is on to find a new contractor to roll out superfast broadband across Devon and Somerset.

Read more
Friday, February 21, 2020

Devon residents will have to fork out an extra £1.06 a week in council tax to help pay for a budget which sees money spent on vulnerable children, adult social care and roads and drainage.

Read more
Friday, January 31, 2020

More ‘fire-breathing dragons’ are set to be let loose on East Devon’s roads in a bid to hunt down potholes.

Read more
Sunday, December 15, 2019

A call for evidence for and against 5G technology has been extended until New Year’s Day.

Read more
Monday, December 9, 2019

Devon County Council has again voted against discussing proposed fire service cuts in the region.

Read more
Monday, December 9, 2019

November rain has cost Devon County Council more than £400,000 in reacting to flooding incidents.

Read more
Friday, November 8, 2019

A decision on controversial plans to close fire stations across Devon and Somerset has been delayed until after Christmas.

Read more
Friday, September 20, 2019

‘We want climate justice, and we want it now’ – thousands of protesters of all ages marched on Devon County Council headquarters as part of global strike action.

Read more
Monday, September 9, 2019

Proposed new powers to make it easier for councils to clamp down on pavement parking have been welcomed by Devon and Cornwall’s police and crime commissioner (PCC).

Read more
Wednesday, August 14, 2019

Some of the difficult decisions Devon and Cornwall Police face every day will feature in a behind-the-scenes documentary on Channel 4.

Read more
Friday, August 9, 2019

Volunteer lifesavers are warning people to be extra cautious near open water in the wake of weather warnings for the weekend.

Read more
Monday, July 15, 2019

A damning report has said South West Water’s anti-pollution efforts are ‘unacceptable’.

Read more
Wednesday, July 10, 2019

A damning report has said South West Water’s anti-pollution efforts are ‘unacceptable’.

Read more
Tuesday, July 2, 2019

People will have the chance to quiz fire service bosses on potential station closures at upcoming public exhibitions.

Read more
Friday, June 28, 2019

Residents will have their say on plans to close fire stations across Devon and Somerset.

Read more
Friday, June 28, 2019

Jamie Leslie, fire brigade secretary for the Fire Brigade Union, was speaking at a meeting of the fire service authority.

Read more
Friday, June 28, 2019

Follow our live blog as our reporters are live at Devon and Somerset Fire and Rescue Service HQ as proposed cuts are discussed by the authority

Read more
Saturday, June 8, 2019

Proposals for a new road to bypass Totnes as part of a bid to improve the air quality in the town are off the table.

Read more
Thursday, May 16, 2019

Check out our photos of this year’s Devon County Show held at Westpoint

Read more

Useful Links

Advertise in the Paper
Submit a Story
Subscriptions Order
Competitions
Photo Orders
Family notices
iwitness24
Google Plus
Facebook
Twitter
Reader Travel

Family Notices 24

Read Online

Image
Read the Exmouth Journal e-edition E-edition


Find planning applications