Exmouth name squad for Tuesday night's Devon Cup semi-final

PUBLISHED: 13:13 01 May 2018 | UPDATED: 13:13 01 May 2018

Charlie Gibbings in the thick of the action for the Cockles in their win over Camborne

Charlie Gibbings in the thick of the action for the Cockles in their win over Camborne


Exmouth RFC coaches Jon Hill, Dave Bargent and Tom Whelan have made some rotational changes ahead of Tuesday night's mouth-watering Devon Cup semi-final clash with Brixham that kicks-off at the Imperial Ground at 7.15pm.

After Saturday’s physical encounter against Camborne, it is all change in the front row, with Davy McGregor a notable inclusion against his former club. Pete Ingoldsby, perhaps unfortunate to have missed out on Saturday, gets the nod, with player forwards coach Dave Bargent capable of adding a lot of impetus off the bench.

Lloyd Watkins, another to have missed out on Saturday, will partner Harry Ottaway, a current colt at half back.

Ottaway has played very well the past few weeks and has tasted 1st XV rugby against Bournemouth, Weston, Cleve, Dings and Lydney this season – a fine achievement for the 18-year-old, fresh from lifting the Colts shield only two weeks ago.

There is no shortage of fire power on the bench with Max Keen, an England Counties Under-20s triallist added to the seven man bench including Player Coaches Whelan and Bargent, and the influential George Meadows, who is back from injury.

Two other current colts Tom Cooke, and Ethan Langson Justice, offer reserve options for those facing fitness tests after Saturday. It will be their 1st XV debuts if they do make the bench.

The Cockles have won the Cup in five of the last six seasons that they have competed for the trophy.

Brixham have won the Cup for the past two years, and in fact are the only team to have beaten Exmouth in the cup since the 2010 season.

It all points towards a fantastic spectacle, and one not to be missed, in a game being sponsored by Ideal Cleaners.

The winners will play Ivybridge (away) on Bank Holiday Monday (May 7)..

Exmouth team to play Brixham in the Devon Cup semi-final (7.15p)

1. George Savage

2. Davy McGregor

3. Paul Flower

4. Jack Fahy (capt)

5. Mike Richards

6. Pete Ingoldsby

7. James Harris

8. Sam Richardson

9. Lloyd Watkins

10. Harry Ottaway

11. Sam Fellows

12. Mark Wathes

13. Henry Goldson

14. Matt Ryan

15. Rich Bright


16. Tom Brown

17. Charlie Gibbings

18. Tom Barnard

19. Max Keen

20. Dave Bargent

21. George Meadows

22. Tom Whelan

23. Ethan Langson-Justice

24. Tom Cooke

Most Read

Most Read

Latest from the Exmouth Journal

Hot Jobs

Show Job Lists