Police Social Club A crowned Exmouth Snooker League champions

PUBLISHED: 16:07 14 March 2020 | UPDATED: 16:07 14 March 2020

snooker generic picture

snooker generic picture


Police Social Club A were crowned champions of the Exmouth Snooker League after defeating both of their nearest two challengers.

Rob Pow, (57(38)-22), Mike Delahaye (62-34), and (71-42) along with Bob Martin (49-17) lost just frame four to Dion Newcombe (69-48) of the Conservative Club.

Effectively winners with a game to spare, they defeated defending champions, East Budleigh as Mike Delahaye (71-36), Rob Pow (47-12) and Pete Abrahams (66-25) were taken to a deciding frame by Barry Bentley (59-33) and Alan Farrant (67-15).

Runners-up are the Conservative Club with Iain Callander (77-48) and Craig Wilson (68-24) taken to five frames by Bob Alexander (63-61) and John Evens (75-48) on the Police C table. Craig Wilson playing the adopted substitute rule won the decider (42-31) securing second place and relegating East Budleigh to third.

Police B retain the wooden spoon despite Joe Pearcey (59-52), Bob Horton (62-61) and Frank Kelsey (58-22) winning the first three frames against the Police C. With Eric James (65-51) and Terry Brown (52-44) taking the final two, the C team edge out the B for fourth, place thanks to the extra match win.

Final table P W Pts

Police S C A 16 11 49

Conservative Club 16 10 41

East Budleigh 16 8 40

Police SC C 16 6 35

Police SC B 16 5 35

Highest Break - Kev Luxton 48

If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Exmouth Journal. Click the link in the orange box above for details.

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Latest from the Exmouth Journal