East Budleigh crowned Exmouth Snooker League champions


snooker - Credit: Archant

East Budleigh are the new champions of the Exmouth Snooker League.

Going into their final fixture with the Police Social Club A, whoever won would take the title. East Budleigh were emphatic in their win as Derek Quick, 63-24, Alan Farrant, 76-54, Kev Luxton, 60-44, Barry Bentley, 40-15 and Mark Auton, 41(30)-31 secured all five frames thus relegating the Police A to third place.

They were in with a chance despite losing to defending champions, Conservative Club and Tim Parker, 64-52, Iain Callander, 82-47, Dion Newcombe, 50-37, and Dave Lance, 76-54.

Another 4-1 win over the Police C from Iain Callander, 70-40, Tim Parker, 65-42, Dave Lance, 66-54 and Dan Brown, 70-67 ensured the Conservative Club of the runners-up place,

Fourth, are the Police C, as they brought their season to a close with John Evens, 61-14, Bob Alexander, 65-64, John Parrott, 56-39 and John Anderson, 54-18 denied maximum points by Bob Horton, 61-52 of the Police B who retain the wooden spoon.

You may also want to watch:

Dion Newcombe hold the highest break to date with his 39 made in his Dave Edwards Trophy match.

Any break compiled in league or any competition qualifies for the trophy and there are competition finals yet to complete.

Most Read

Final table P W Pts

East Budleigh 16 11 48

Conservative Club 16 9 45

Police SC A 16 8 43

Police SC C 16 8 38

Police SC B 16 4 26

Highest snooker break of the campaign: Dion Newcombe 39

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus