Topsham St James bank a second successive E Division victory with Kenn win

PUBLISHED: 09:53 11 July 2013 | UPDATED: 09:53 11 July 2013

cricket generic

cricket generic


Topsham St James secured back-to-back Francis Clark Devon League E Division wins for the first time this season as they beat Kenn by 55 runs.

After winning the toss and opting to bat in glorious sunny conditions Charlie Penn and Brian Jeary set off at a good rate with Penn hitting four 4s off the first 12 balls he faced. However, his innings was ended in the sixth over with only 28 on the board after he misjudged a quick bouncer.

Penn was next to fall, this after thumping a brace of sixes, his contribution being 33 off 27 balls.

Thereafter the innings was boosted by scores of 23 from Joe Thomlinson (until he got a big edge and was caught behind), 26 from Matt Williams and 27 from Joe McShane as the total reached 188 all out in the final over.

It needed a good shift from the bowlers to bag that second success, and they delivered!

Skipper Ross Treleaven took the first Kenn wicket in the third over and his reverse swing was far too good for any Kenn batsman as he bowled straight through sending back half the home team for just 30 runs off 9.

Brian Jeary gave great support at the opposite end, finishing with one for 27 from eight over as the home team slumped to 71-6 after 17 overs.

The late middle order dug deep and 53 runs were added for the seventh wicket prior to Nick Crew ending their partnership.

Dan Armstrong mopped up the tail, taking three wickets for a dozen runs in one ball shy of six overs as Kenn were bowled out for 133.

On Saturday a third successive win when the Saints entertain Kentisbeare would leave the Bonfire Field men in a mid-table berth having been rock bottom just a week ago!

Most Read

Most Read

Latest from the Exmouth Journal

Hot Jobs

Show Job Lists