Conservative Club crowned Exmouth Snooker League champions

PUBLISHED: 18:00 18 March 2018




Conservative Club captured the Exmouth Snooker League Championship despite losing both of their final two matches.

They lost the first three frames to Bob Alexander (78-37), Trevor Haylock (62-15) and John Anderson (54-44) on the Police Social Club C table before clinching the title by the two frames won by Dave Lance (80-48) and Iain Callander, on the black, (75-67).

This, after losing 4-1 to the defending champions, Police A. They, in turn, staged a run to the line through Mike Delahaye (71-31), Rob Pow (49-37), Pete Abrahams (76-43) and George Webster (60-25).

This was a repeat of the winning score in their outstanding match with the Police B. Keiran Prosser (63-61), Mike Delahaye (57-28), Rob Pow (58-39) and Pete Abrahams (47-35) set it up for all to play for in their final match at East Budleigh.

But, it was not to be as only Rob Pow won frame three (61-37). Alan Farrant (70-55), Trevor Hayman (75-22), Mark Auton (77-64) and Kev Luxton (60-53) confirmed East Budleigh third in the final table and the Police A as runners-up.

Police B retain the wooden spoon as Ray Sturman (51-43), Trevor Haylock (65-54), Bob Alexander (51-50) and John Parrott (57-47) of the Police C finished fourth, and, with a walk-over for John Anderson as he completed 60 consecutive years playing in the Exmouth Snooker League.

Final table P W Pts

Conservative Club 16 10 48

Police S C A 16 10 46

East Budleigh 16 10 43

Police S C C 16 7 41

Police S C B 16 3 22

Highest Break Carl Rowsell – 56

Most Read

Most Read

Latest from the Exmouth Journal

Hot Jobs

Show Job Lists