Budleigh ladies win local derby against Sidmouth

PUBLISHED: 09:58 06 December 2018 | UPDATED: 09:58 06 December 2018

Sidmouth bowling club hosted a tournament at the weekend. Ref shsp 28-16AW 2225. Picture: Alex Walton

Sidmouth bowling club hosted a tournament at the weekend. Ref shsp 28-16AW 2225. Picture: Alex Walton


The Budleigh ladies entertained local rivals Sidmouth at Cricket Field Lane and it was a story of two very different rinks with wins for both teams, but an overall victory 38-29 for the home team, writes David Roberts.

Margaret Avery, Gwen Hurst, Di Dixon and skip Mo Bond were in fine form and raced into a 25-3 lead at the halfway stage and restricted their opponents to scoring on only four ends to take their rink 32-7.

Ann Vincent, Bunty Hudson, Joan Cowing and Dawn Graham came up against an in form Sidmouth team and lost 22-6, but overall, this was a good win for the Budleigh team.

From time to time the Budleigh men play the Devon Presidents, and, on this latest occasion there was a fine win for the home team, 45-29.

Tony Lim, Simon Weclawek, John Dill and skip Leighton Burston played consistently to take their rink 27-8 whilst Mike Killoran, Peter Burch, Dick Mitchell and Gerry Roberts fought well in a game that swung from one team to another only to lose out 18-21.

In the Budleigh Evening League top-of-the-table Budleigh Buzzhawks lost their 100 per cent record as the Exonia Eagles took four of the six points, dominating on rink one with a convincing 31-8 win.

It was left to Brian Ward, Tony Hanson and David Tomlinson to salvage something on the night for the Buzzhawks, and they did just that with an exciting 17-16 victory. After a slow start they hit a purple patch halfway through and took two shots on the last end to snatch the game.

There was no success for the Budleigh men this week in the Sidmouth League as Bill Barber, Gerard McCarthy, Brian Evans and Paul Griffin despite a late rally lost out 11-22 against the Sidmouth Matadors.

In the Tuesday morning triples league there were wins for Team Ash - Mike Clark, Lilian Grainger and John Dill, 27-16, and for Team Oak - Brian Alabaster, Brian Goddard and David Roberts, 25-6.

If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Exmouth Journal. Click the link in the orange box above for details.

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Latest from the Exmouth Journal