West Exe 1 Brixington Blues 4

Brixington Blues Under-12s team photo

Brixington Blues Under-12s team photo - Credit: Brixington Blues

West Exe kicked off the first game of the New Year which saw the Blues dominate proceedings, winning an early indirect free kick which was scrambled away to safety. 
Brixington struck their first goal on 10 minutes after a brilliant pass from Ryan McCann saw Harry Batten force a corner and the resulting scramble in the box was turned in by Ben Vines. 
The Blues has another chance shortly after with lovely skill from Harry Batten flicking the ball over his defender and hammering a volley just wide. 
Ned O’Mahoney and Ryan McCann were bossing midfield and Oliver Dawkins caused problems down the left flank. 
Harper Phillips and Harley Westaway were rock solid in defence and Taylor Westaway saved well from West Exe’s first shot on target. 
Ben Vines popped up for his second on 18 mins after another fine cross from Harry Batten. 
Josh Lawrence showed fantastic skill, taking on three players and whipping in a dangerous cross and Ned O’Mahoney’s powerful long shot got tipped around the post.  
Harry Tooby made a brilliant contribution in the second half, scoring within two minutes of being on the pitch and Louis Foorde made his debut for the Blues with an assured and vital contribution on the left in defence. 
Evan Clark in goal for the second half was as composed as ever and made two particularly superb saves, whilst Frank Shelton tracked back well and took on his player, breaking up a rare West Exe attack. 
The Blues soon struck again after a great throw from Oliver Dawkins saw Sonny Rowsell make a brilliant run down left, losing his man and cutting the ball in for Harry Tooby to fire home for 4-0. 
Isaac Wykes was unlucky not to score and he played superbly with a number of driving runs leaving the opposition in disarray. 
West Exe did pull back a consolation goal but Brixington ran out deserved winners to go second in the table. 
Line-Up: Evan Clark 1, Taylor Westaway 1, Frank Shelton 2, Harper Phillips 3, Ryan McCann 6, Oliver Dawkins 7, Harry Batten 8, Ned O’Mahoney 9, Harry Tooby 10, Josh Lawrence 11, Isaac Wykes 12, Ben Vines 14, Sonny Roswell 15, Louis Foord 18, Harley Westaway 19 

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter