Bobbies beat holders to take league

PUBLISHED: 08:24 04 April 2015 | UPDATED: 08:24 04 April 2015


SNOOKER: Police Social Club A were duly crowned champions of the Exmouth Snooker League with 3-2 wins over the Number Nine A and at East Budleigh, writes David Binmore.

George Webster, Mark Rock, Carl Rowsell, Pete Abrahams, Mick Delahaye and Rob Pow finished five points clear with their earlier 509 defeat of the holders, Number Nine B crucial in the final outcome.

Number Nine B stole the runners-up spot from the Police C by a single point as Russell Frame 94(28)-58, John Sharland 56-48, Johnathan Duck 69-31, Dave McCarthy 51-42 and Tim Thorn 59-49 took maximum points from the visit of the Police B.

John Parrott 63-54 and Steve Spinner 61-22 had the Police C leading the Number Nine A, then had to wait for John Anderson’s final frame decider (70-47) as Tim Parker 65-24 and Dan Brown 46-35 drew level at 2-2.

Russell Frame has won the Open Championship for a record-breaking eighth, time by four frames to three against the number-three seed Carl Rowsell.

Frame was made to battle for it, trailing 3-2 to Rowsell, who needed just one more frame for his maiden title victory.

Russell won the sixth and deciding frames 69-9 and 80-6. Both players came within one pot from taking the high break prize from Mark Rock’s 57.

Exmouth bowed out of the Devon Inter-League Snooker, beaten by the holders of the Bilby Cup, Exeter A in three straight frame wins.

A break of 75 by the Exeter captain, Gareth Clark in frame two, underlined Exeter’s strength in depth.

If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Exmouth Journal. Click the link in the orange box above for details.

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Latest from the Exmouth Journal