Exmouth Rugby Club (the Cockles) have had their senior squads represent Devon RFU at the recent County Championship Finals held at Twickenham.

Cockles trio (L-R), Jake Inglis, Georgia Kew and Nick Headley all representing Devon RFU Senior squad.

Cockles trio: Jake Inglis, Georgia Kew and Nick Headley Cockles trio: Jake Inglis, Georgia Kew and Nick Headley

The men’s team beat North Midlands 39-20. With women overpowering Cumbria 53-12, to both become Division 3 County Champions.

On the women's side, with Georgia Kew representing the Cockles, the team overpowered their opponents from Cumbria with a staggering 53-12 victory, securing both teams the title of Division 3 County Champions.

New Forwards coach for Cockles.

The club has also announced some additions to their coaching line-up, with Matt Postlethwaite taking on the role of the new Forwards Coach.

Postlethwaite joins the team to work alongside Head Coach Steve Perry, with Assistant Coaches Ali Hill and Ollie Dawe.

Having previously played for Premiership rugby clubs, Exeter Chiefs and Sale Sharks, and holding England U18 honours, he carries considerable experience to his new role.

 Matt Postlethwaite will be the new Forwards coach.Matt Postlethwaite will be the new Forwards coach

Nick Smith, the director of rugby (DOR), expressed his delight at Postlethwaite's appointment.

He said: "We are really pleased that Matt decided to join us, we have a lot of young talent that will benefit from his skill set.

"From chatting with him, I know Matt can't wait to get going at pre-season training, held at Woodbury Park Gold & County Club."

The club celebrated the past season with an award ceremony held on June 1.

The event recognised players, coaches, volunteers, family, friends, sponsors, and supporters who contributed to the Cockles' successful season.

The ceremony featured a line-up of prominent figures within the rugby community, including Claudia MacDonald and Cliodhna Moloney, both players and integral members of the coaching team for Exmouth's women's squad.

Mr. Smith, the DOR, paid tribute to retiring players, Jack Fahy and Matt Ryan, and recognised the achievements of current and retired players.

Steve Perry, head coach, outlined a summary of achievements across the teams, as well as recognition of players who have made county, academy and international representation. 

Personal thanks also went to former player Alex Goldman, latterly coach across the teams' sides, who is stepping down, with Steve Pape who has moved on. 

Club chair, Ian Harris, described the evening as an "incredible" celebration for the rugby club.

He said: "What an incredible evening to celebrate our rugby club.

"Huge Congratulations & Well Done to our winners.

"The perfect acknowledgement for our Men, Women, COLTS and Girls U18s at EXMOUTH RUGBY.

"My personal thanks go to each and every one of our awesome people, who look after us on and off the pitch each week."

Award recipients included Shayla Tynan, who received the Girls U18 Player of the Year title, Charlie Tate who was named Colt of the Year, and Tammy Emmins, who was crowned the Women's Player of the Year.

The Player of the Year award was given to Matt Ryan, whilst Clare Tate was recognised as Clubman of the Year, and Dr Simon Kay was awarded the Nigel Harris Memorial Trophy for his service to Exmouth Rugby Football Club.

Honorary President, Roger Holman, conveyed his gratitude to all the volunteers who made the event possible, marking the end of a successful year for the Cockles.

With such a strong end to the season, the Cockles anticipate an exciting start to pre-season under the new coaching staff.