Exeter Chiefs Women produced a stunning fightback to reach the final of the Allianz Premier 15s, against Gloucester-Hartpury later this month.

On a brilliant day at Sandy Park, the Chiefs took on old rivals Saracens, and the players delivered a superb match for over 4,000 fans in attendance.

Saracens demonstrated their power and poise in the opening half and were in complete control at half-time, leading 14-0, and suppressing the famed attacking flair of the Chiefs. Head coach Susie Appleby used her half-time chat to inspire the troops and within minutes, they were back in the game.

The Chiefs kept storming forward and found themselves in front for the first time, only for the Sarries to respond with a score of their own, giving them a lead with ten minutes remaining. The home side found one more flowing move and Scotland international Eilidh Sinclair dived over for a 24-21 victory.

On the men’s side of the club, Henry Slade has been selected in England’s 28-man training squad in the first Rugby World Cup preparation camp.

Head coach Steve Borthwick said: “We are excited to get into camp and begin the first phase of our preparations.

“The World Cup is full of top quality teams and high quality players, and we’re relishing the challenge in front of us. That all starts today at Pennyhill Park.

“We have lots to get through before our first summer series fixture in August against Wales in Cardiff, so the hard work starts now. We are looking forward to it.”

England Training Squad

Forwards (15): Jamie Blamire (Newcastle Falcons); Alex Dombrandt (Harlequins); Tom Dunn (Bath Rugby); Charlie Ewels (Bath Rugby); Ellis Genge (Bristol Bears); Ted Hill (Bath Rugby); Joe Marler (Harlequins); Zach Mercer (Montpellier Hérault Rugby); Beno Obano (Bath Rugby); Tom Pearson (London Irish); Val Rapava-Ruskin (Gloucester Rugby); Kyle Sinckler (Bristol Bears); Will Stuart (Bath Rugby); Sam Underhill (Bath Rugby); Jack Walker (Harlequins).

Backs (13): Henry Arundell (London Irish); Danny Care (Harlequins); Joe Cokanasiga (Bath Rugby); Ollie Hassell-Collins (London Irish); Will Joseph (London Irish); Ollie Lawrence (Bath Rugby); Joe Marchant (Harlequins); Jonny May (Gloucester Rugby); Cadan Murley (Harlequins); Harry Randall (Bristol Bears); Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs); Marcus Smith (Harlequins); Ben Spencer (Bath Rugby).