Mayor re-elected

EXMOUTH S youngest-ever Mayor Darryl Nicholas, has been re-elected for another term in office.

EXMOUTH'S youngest-ever Mayor Darryl Nicholas, has been re-elected for another term in office.

At Exmouth Town Council's AGM on Monday councillors were polled and backed Cllr Nicholas and Deputy Mayor Sandy Sutton to retain their respective offices until May 2011.

The beginning of the meeting was poignant - it was marked with the traditional bell ringing but without the late Garth Gibson, the town crier who died last year.

Leader of the council Cllr Lynne Elson said of Cllr Nicholas: "I think that when Darryl first took on the job some thought he was too young.

"But he has stood up for the council and has brought real energy and enthusiasm."

Cllr Nicholas said: "It has been a real honour and a privilege.

Most Read

"You really don't know what to expect until you actually do it... meeting so many different people and community groups."

He highlighted the Strand redevelopment work, the Exmouth master plan and moves by the town hall to take on responsibility for the town clocks, seafront lights and the planting of flowers beds following district council cuts as 'real achievements'.

He said: "It's a credit to everyone sitting around this table."

Cllr Mark Williamson also paid tribute to Deputy Mayor Sandy Sutton: "She cut her teeth as chairman of the finance committee.

"She has represented the council with grace and friendliness."

Cllr Sutton said: "I would like to thank Darryl where he has often given me a chance to represent him at various functions around the town.

"I do appreciate you very much that it is a shared role."

Appointments on the planning committee remain the same with councillors Lynne Elson and Richard Turner holding their positions as chairman and vice-chairman of the planning committee.

Former mayor Joy Whipps remains chairman of the finance committee with Vivian Duval-Steer as vice-chairman.

And Pauline Stott and Maddie Chapman stay as chairman and vice-chairman of the Regeneration and General Purposes Committee.

However with Cllr Trevor Cope leaving the Liberal Democrats to become an independent that committee is now made up of ten Conservatives, seven Lib Dem's and one independent.

And county councillor Brenda Taylor has been co-opted onto the finance committee.