Lympstone’s David honoured as EDDC makes appointments

PUBLISHED: 12:30 27 May 2017

David Atkins, who has been named as an Honorary Alderman by East Devon District Council.

David Atkins, who has been named as an Honorary Alderman by East Devon District Council.


A former East Devon District Councillor from Lympstone has been made an honorary alderman by the authority.

David Atkins served on the council for a total of 26 years from 1973 to 1991 and from 2007 to 2015, holding several committee chairmanships during that time.

Councillor Mark Williamson, who proposed that the title be conferred to Mr Atkins, said that he had an in-depth knowledge of the council and the district of East Devon which had been invaluable during his time as a councillor.

Mr Atkins received the award, along with former councillor Peter Bowden, ahead of the authority’s annual meeting, which saw former deputy leader Councillor Andrew Moulding named as chairman, taking over from Councillor Stuart Hughes.

Cllr Moulding, who has been Devon County Council’s chairman for the last year and is a long-serving councillor of 30 years, said: “I have the great pleasure of thanking all those who have put me in this position. This is a very proud moment.”

Cllr Hughes added: “I would like to take the opportunity to thank members who have assisted me over the last two years… I have many fond memories.

“These two years have flown by.”

Councillor Phil Twiss took over as the council’s new deputy leader.

Councillor Paul Diviani remains as leader, and Councillor David Key was named as the new vice-chairman.

Cllr Key said: “I will do my best to support the chairman and up hold the integrity of the council in these very changing and challenging times.”

At the meeting, Cllr Diviani selected his cabinet which included Cllr Iain Chubb responsible for corporate services, Exmouth’s Jill Elson in charge of homes and communities, Geoff Pook, Philip Skinner responsible for economy, Ian Thomas in charge of finance, Exmouth’s Eileen Wragg, Budleigh’s Tom Wright who is responsible for environment, and Marcus Hartnell.

Cllr Diviani said: “Thank you very much for the honour you have passed on to me for the seventh time. It is a great honour to be the leader of a council as good as this one.

If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Exmouth Journal. Click the link in the orange box above for details.

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Comments have been disabled on this article.

Latest from the Exmouth Journal