Election 2017: Greens back Independent Claire Wright in East Devon


- Credit: Archant

The East Devon Green Party has announced it is backing Independent candidate Claire Wright in this week’s General Election.

The Greens are not fielding their own candidate in the East Devon constituency.

A spokesperson said the party was backing Ms Wright as ‘the best chance of a progressive MP representing East Devon in Parliament’.

East Devon Green Party coordinator Olly Davey said: “Claire shares our views on many of the issues and she has a good chance of being elected. Many local Greens will be voting for Claire.”

Also standing in East Devon are Alison Eden (Lib Dem), Peter Faithfull (Independent), Brigitte Graham (UKIP), Jan Ross (Labour), Sir Hugo Swire (Conservative), Michael Val Davies (Independent).