EDDC: Independents oust Tories in Sidmouth Town

Matt Booth

Matt Booth - Credit: Archant

A trio of Independent candidates have ousted the Sidmouth Town Ward’s three Tory representatives.

Matt Booth and Cathy Gardner, both members of the Independent East Devon Alliance, and Independent John Dyson are all celebrating victory.

Conservatives Sheila Kerridge, Frances Newth and Peter Sullivan have all lost their seats on the council.

Mr Booth secured 1,832 votes while Mrs Gardner landed 1,704 and Mr Dyson netted 1,495.

Mrs Kerridge (1,114 votes), Mrs Newth (1,068 votes) and Mr Sullivan (904 votes) all lose out.