EDDC elections: first results emerge


- Credit: Archant

A late night separating the ballots has delayed the count but the first seven East Devon District Council wards have been announced.

The authority’s Conservative chairman Paul Diviani retains the Yarty seat, but vice chairman Christine Drew, another Tory, lost Sidmouth Rural to Independent David Barratt.

Raleigh was the first result, which was taken by the East Devon Alliance candidate, Geoffrey Jung, who ousted Conservative cabinet member Ray Bloxham.

In Budleigh Salterton, Tory trio Alan Dent, Steve Hall and Tom Wright have all been re-elected, proclaiming: “The Budleigh boys are back.”

In Exmouth’s Brixington ward, Conservatives David and Maddy Chapman and Cherry Nicholas have also all been re-elected.

You may also want to watch:

And in the town’s Withycombe Raleigh ward, Brian Bailey, Steve Gazzard and Brenda Taylor have won the vote.

Whimple was claimed by Peter Bowden, claiming the seat from Lib Dem Martin Gammell.

Most Read

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter