Exmouth has a new mayor and he's 'the man to get things done'.

PUBLISHED: 16:31 24 May 2018 | UPDATED: 16:31 24 May 2018

New Exmouth mayor Jeff Trail (left) with new deputy Bruce de Saram.

New Exmouth mayor Jeff Trail (left) with new deputy Bruce de Saram.


The new Mayor of Exmouth has spoken of his pride at being elected to lead the town council for the next year.

Councillor Jeff Trail was voted into the role by his fellow town representatives at the annual meeting of the town council on Monday (May 21).

He fills the position vacated by Cllr Brian Cole, who stood down after two years.

Cllr Bruce de Saram was also elected as deputy mayor of the town council.

In accepting the position, Cllr Trail said: “I am honoured and very privileged.

“Many years ago I said to a group of Brixington Blues under-16s I would represent the town and try and make a difference when the time was right – that time has now arrived.

“We are moving the town in the right direction.”

At the meeting, two candidates were nominated to be the town mayor for the next 12 months.

In a secret ballot, Cllr Trail gained more votes than Cllr Steve Gazzard to be declared the mayor.

The new mayor was nominated for the role by Cllr Maddie Chapman and this was seconded by Cllr Richard Scott.

Cllr Chapman said: “Jeff is a military man. He has fought for his country and trained men to fight for their country.

“He feels passionately about Exmouth and about people and Jeff is the man to get things done.”

Cllr de Saram was elected as deputy mayor after being nominated for the role by new mayor Cllr Trail and this was seconded by Cllr Mark Williamson.

Cllr Trail said: “Bruce de Saram is a very enthusiastic, hard-working individual and the work he does in Littleham is to be commended.”

At the meeting, the new mayor also announced the two charities he will be supporting; SSAFA - The Armed Forces Charity and The Royal Marines Association.

Members also agreed the chairmen and vice-chairmen for the planning and finance committees.

Cllr Lynne Elson will continue as chairman of the planning committee and her deputy will be Cllr Fred Caygill.

The finance committee will be led by Cllr Bill Nash with Cllr Cherry Nicholas as his deputy.

Most Read

Comments have been disabled on this article.

Most Read

Latest from the Exmouth Journal

Hot Jobs

Show Job Lists