General Election 2019: Candidates gearing up but Brexit Party pulls out

PUBLISHED: 10:07 30 October 2019 | UPDATED: 16:52 30 October 2019

Ballot box voting

Ballot box voting


East Devon residents are set to go to the polls in December to decide who will represent the region in parliament.

After Prime Minster Boris Johnson's bill passed through the House of Commons on Tuesday (October 29), a date looks set for a snap general election.

Once the bill makes it through the House of Lords, an election will take place on Thursday, December 12.

Earlier this year, current MP Sir Hugo Swire announced he would not be standing in the next election.

The Brexit Party previously announced that Michael Amor would be standing in the constituency, but the party has since confirmed it will not be contesting this election.

Here is the latest list of East Devon parliamentary election 2019 candidates:

Conservative Party - no candidate announced

Green Party - no candidate announced

Independent - Claire Wright

Labour Party - Daniel Wilson

Liberal Democrats - Eleanor Rylance

UKIP - no candidate announced

Most Read

Comments have been disabled on this article.

Most Read

Latest from the Exmouth Journal