College students receive awards


- Credit: Archant

Exmouth Community College’s top students have been honoured at its annual Post-16 awards evening.

Students, governors, staff and parents were there to see the awards given out, and hear a speech by former student Tom Hitchings, who is now advising governments and businesses on major change programmes.

There was music from a student band, and a speech by chairman of governors Elizabeth Lee.

The college said it would like to thank all the local sponsors of awards.

Four special award winners were named: Courtney Dempster, who won the Jim Walker Prize for Contribution to Drama; Abigail Swain, who received the Exmouth Raleigh Rotary Club Millennium Award; Sophie Medlock, who won the Paul Wood Memorial Trophy (531st Exmouth Tribute Fund); and Jacqueline Hughes, who won the Sir Peter Emery Cup.

The other award winners recognised were as follows: Sean Ashcroft, Effort in Health and Social Care Level Two; Julian Ashwin, Attainment in Chemistry, English Literature and Mathematics, Head of Year Award; Fiona Atkins, Effort in Children’s Care, Learning and Development; Catherine Baker, Attainment in Media Studies Level Two; Amy Bannister, Effort in Chemistry; Katie Bartrop, Attainment in Travel and Tourism.

Meghan Bellamy, Attainment in Media Studies, Vocational Single Award Level Three; Bethany Bolt, Attainment in Media Studies, Vocational Double Award Level Three; Jasmine Brealey, Effort in BTEC Art Level Three; Emma Briggs, Attainment in Human Biology; Shelley Brooks, Attainment in Leisure Studies; Rebecca Brown, Effort in English Language; Claire Burgess, Governors Award for Attainment; Tasmyn Burns, Attainment in BTEC Sport Level Three.

Most Read

Sarah-Jane Campbell, Effort in BTEC Art Level Two; Lauren Clarke, Attainment in Psychology and Textiles; Susanna Curtis, Effort in Psychology; Felix Dobbs, Effort in Mathematics; Bethany Foxon, Governors Award for Attainment; Annie Hammett, Effort in Media Studies, Vocational Double Award Level Three; Rachel Hart, Effort in French; Jamie Heavens, Attainment in Physics, Governors Award for Attainment; Jacob Hepworth-Wain, Attainment in English Language; Georgia Hester, Attainment in Sociology.

Jasmin Horne, Effort in BTEC Sport Level Three; Jacqueline Hughes, Attainment in Philosophy and Ethics; Emily Jacklin, Attainment in Theatre Studies; Joshua Jones, Attainment in PE; Jemma Lever, Effort in Dance; Rebecca Lillico, Effort in Travel and Tourism; Martyn Long, Effort in Graphic Products and Music Technology; Christopher Luff, Attainment in Geography, Governors Award for Attainment; Mark Manning, Effort in Computing and Media Studies and Attainment in Film Studies; Oliver Marks, Attainment in Government and Politics and Law.

Sacha Matthews, Effort in Law; Serena McGuiness, Attainment in Dance; Philip Newton, Effort in Human Biology; Daisy O’Loughlin, Head of Key Stage Award; Ebony Paver, Attainment in Children’s Care, Learning and Development; Melissa Pawson, Attainment in English Language – Fast Track; Edward Pearce, Effort in Physics; Samuel Pester, Attainment in French and Music; Beth Pollard, Attainment and Effort in Spanish; Amber-Jay Poulter, Effort in Philosophy and Ethics; Rebecca Price, Effort in History; Grace Ratley, Governors Award for Effort.

Billie Reece-McKeown, Attainment in Media Studies; Sophie Richardson, Effort in PE; Ben Rose, Effort in Government and Politics; Rosanna Ryder, Effort in Sociology; Polly Savage, Governors Award for Effort; Joshua Sims, Attainment and Effort in ICT Level Two; Thomas Skinner, Attainment in Art and Design, Governors Award for Attainment; Howard Smith, Effort in Film Studies; Taya Smith-Dyer, Attainment in BTEC Art Level Three.

Thomas Steer, Effort in Leisure Studies; Abigail Swain, Attainment in Biology; Lia Taylor, Effort in BTEC Art Level Two; Lara Tomlinson, Effort in Media Studies Level Two; Wendy Valentine, Effort in Art and Design; Luke Walker, Effort in English Language – Fast Track; Samuel Wells, Attainment in History; Harry West, Attainment in Economics; Anna Western, Effort in Biology; Rebecca Wilks, Effort in Economics.

Eleanor Williams, Attainment and Effort in English Literature, Governors Award for Attainment; Katie Williams, Effort in Geography; Sara Williams, Attainment and Effort in Food Technology; Alex Wingfield, Attainment in Health and Social Care Level Two; Rebekah Yelland, Attainment and Effort in Health and Social Care; Joseph Young, Governors Award for Effort.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter