Conservatives win Exmouth county vote

PUBLISHED: 14:25 05 May 2017 | UPDATED: 14:26 05 May 2017

Jeff Trail

Jeff Trail


Conservatives Jeff Trail and Richard Scott have been elected in the Devon County Council vote for the Exmouth electoral division.

Richard ScottRichard Scott

The result means long-serving Lib Dem councillor Eileen Wragg, whose Exmouth Littleham and Town division was absorbed in boundary changes by the new Exmouth and Exmouth and Budleigh Coastal divisions, was unsuccessful in her bid for election.

The results were as follows:

Oliver Davey (Greens) 682

Tim Dumper (Liberal Democrats) 1,719

Brigitte Graham (UKIP) 799

Dilys Hadley (Labour) 700

Ben Ingham (Independent) 2,199

Robert Masding (Greens) 755

Pete Money (Labour) 645

Richard Scott (Conservatives) 2,849

Jeff Trail (Conservatives) 2,725

Eileen Wragg (Liberal Democrats) 2,117

A total of six ballot papers were rejected. There was a 31 per cent turnout.

If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Exmouth Journal. Click the link in the orange box above for details.

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Comments have been disabled on this article.

Latest from the Exmouth Journal